Revisiting ASSASSIN’S CREED: UNITY (Spoiler Free Review)

Good

Arno was a surprisingly likeable protagonist. I’m surprised I haven’t heard more love for the character as I would put him above the Frye twins who people talk about a lot. In my opinion, Arno is the closest thing we’ve had to Ezio since Ezio. The character customisation was simple but for some reason I really liked it. The small changes made to the characters look really worked for me and earning better items as you progress through the game was a very rewarding system. This time round, I found the combat in the game to be some of the best in the series. It really encourages you to go through the missions as an assassin would (stealthily) as the combat is challenging. My tip would be to buy a decent sword with good damage and speed early on instead of waiting for it as a reward as it really helped me and my enjoyment of the game this time round.

Bad

The missions throughout the game were laid out the same but had enough small changes for each of them to feel different. Some missions were very tedious and took me many goes to complete. They were stressful as I was inches away from my target multiple times to only be caught just before delivering the killing blow. The same mission annoyed me the first time round and was dreading it all the way up to when it arrived. The change in structure arrives at a disappointing finale which was rated 5/5 for difficulty but was completed in one go, where simply running past enemies allows me to complete it without a challenge.

Verdict

The villains were all unique and distinct with enough development on them in flashbacks to make them compelling targets. The parkour was fluent and made me feel like a truly experienced assassin. Paris from a distance is astounding but feels dead on the streets and… no glitches. None.

Assassin’s Creed: Unity – 4/5

This game surprised me so much. I have hated on this game so much but boredom drew me back to it and I’m glad it did. Please give this game a second chance, it deserves it.

Please tell me your opinion (it means a lot) and share with friends to see what they think. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

