Silence – Mini Review (Spoiler Free)

Good

Andrew Garfield has proven himself to be an oscar worthy actor and he proves it here also. I do think his performance in Hacksaw Ridge was more entertaining but his performance here was more raw and brutal. The cinematography on display here is great with a great look at 1600s Japan. Grand shots and even extreme close ups of landscapes were a highlight. Scorsese’s direction is fantastic, in particular the whipping between two things/ people having a conversation.

Bad

I did find the film to become a little tedious with an overall repetitive narrative. Repetitive scenes that may look different but tackle the same issues over and over again. I get that’s the point, it’s pushing the protagonist to his limits but was also pushing me further and further to stop watching the film. I think people built up the torture scenes too much as I seem to have not found them as impactful as others have found them. I had a similar thing with the bear attack in The Revenant but re-watching it, it was brutal. Might be same here but unlike The Revenant, I have no urge to re-watch this.

Verdict

The sound design was good and created an impactful opening. In some parts the title came into the film with the film being complete silence which was fantastic. Odd narration threw me off and felt unnecessary. I just don’t think this is my kind of film.

Silence – 3/5

Please tell me your opinion (it means a lot) and share with friends to see what they think. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

