Top 3 Films of All Time

Introduction

For as long as I have been sure that what I want to do with my life is anything to do with film, I have been trying to think what my top ten films of all time are. I couldn’t make the list. I can’t even do a top five. But there are three films that I know are my favourites of all time. So I present to you my top three films of all time, all of which I implore you watch.

03. Shame (Steve McQueen, 2011).

IMDB; Brandon is a sex addict who thinks about sex all the time when he’s not having sex. He hides his sex addiction from those few people in his life who he lets in in an emotional sense, unlike his married boss, David Fisher, who is open about his marital infidelities to his male work colleagues. And the act of sex holds no emotional connotation whatsoever for Brandon. The arrival back into his life of his sister turns his life upside-down.

It’s difficult describing to people that your third favourite film of all time is a film about a sex addict. The extremely powerful performances and controversial subject matter make it one of the most important films I’ve ever seen.

02. Drive (Nicholas Winding-Refn, 2011).

IMDB; A mysterious man who has multiple jobs as a garage mechanic, a Hollywood stuntman and a getaway driver seems to be trying to escape his shady past as he falls for his neighbor – whose husband is in prison and who’s looking after her child alone. Meanwhile, his garage mechanic boss is trying to set up a race team using gangland money, which implicates our driver as he is to be used as the race team’s main driver. Our hero gets more than he bargained for when he meets the man who is married to the woman he loves.

Drive is a film that has grown on me so much since I first saw it. I remember liking it but having gone back to it many more times, I love this film. It’s subtle and very emotionally compelling with a euphoric soundtrack and look.

01. Inception (Christopher Nolan, 2010).

IMDB; Dominic Cobb is an industrial spy who gets the information he needs by getting into the person’s mind through their dreams. When Saito approaches Cobb and wants to hire him, but instead of getting information out, he wants Cobb to put information in. Cobb is hesitant, but when Saito offers to help Cobb go back to his children, Cobb assembles his team. However, Cobb’s darkest dreams and his desperation to see his kids could seriously jeopardise their mission and their lives.

Inception is everything I love about cinema. The score is the greatest score ever recorded. The visuals are outstanding. The pacing is brilliant. The direction is focussed. The characters are entertaining. Inception is nothing less than a masterpiece of cinema and will never be topped.

Conclusion

I live in the UK, and in the light of the recent horrific events taking place across the country, I think it’s important we all take a big step back and look at what we’ve got. Friends. Family. In times like this especially, we need to appreciate what we have and do what we love. I love film and thought I’d share my favourites with the world so maybe more people will appreciate them as I do. My thoughts and prayers are truly with those affected by these tragic attacks and hope all of you live full and exciting lives šŸ™‚

Please tell me your opinion (it means a lot) and share with friends to see what they think. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

