Ranking Awesome Mix Vol. 2

Introduction

I had my first taste of Awesome Mix Vol. 2 whilst I was on holiday in Northumberland and they released the set list. I downloaded each of them whilst using a pubs wifi and that night laid in my bed, listening to the tunes. I didn’t think much of them straight away. After seeing the film however, the soundtrack has improved so much. Here is where they stand to me. WORST to BEST.

14. Guardians Inferno – The Sneepers FT. David Hasselhoff (Track 14)

13. Surrender – Cheap Trick (Track 11)

12. Bring It On Home To Me – Sam Cooke (Track 5)

11. Fox On The Run – Sweet (Track 2)

10. Come A Little Bit Closer – Jay and the Americans (Track 9)

09. Flash Light – Parliament (Track 13)

08. Wham Bam Shang-A-Lang – Silver (Track 10)

07. Brandy (You’re A Fine Girl) – Looking Glass (Track 8)

06. Lake Shore Drive – Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah (Track 3)

05. My Sweet Lord – George Harrison (Track 7)

04. Southern Nights – Glen Campbell (Track 6)

03. Father And Son – Cat Stevens (Track 12)

02. The Chain – Fleetwood Mac (Track 4)

01. Mr Blue Sky – Electric Light Orchestra (Track 1)

Conclusion

I think this says so much about myself as a movie goer. I have always admitted that the songs I love the most are those I have heard in films as I will forever associate that song with that film/ TV show. Having listening to the soundtrack before seeing the film and thinking nothing much of it, then listening to it after seeing the film and loving it, I’ve just created and confirmed my own theory.

The SPECTATOR ASSOCIATION IMPROVEMENT Theory (Wright, 2017) – Improving something (e.g. a song) after hearing/ seeing it portrayed well in a form of media (e.g. a film), giving it sentimental value. 

Leave a Reply

