Mad Max: Fury Road (Black and Chrome) – Mini Review (Spoiler Free)

Good

This film still has some of the best action to display. Honestly this film is riveting. From the moment go you are on board with Max and Furiosa and are given hardly an rest to relax from what is going on on screen. Brutal, spectacular action that may add up to my favourite action film of all time. The Final chase in this film; one of my most treasured cinematic memories. I remember just laughing at how awesome it was. Mostly practical too. I think the foundations for the film were practical and then built on and enhanced with CGI. This is how it should be and this is how it’s done here. And done marvellously too might I add. For the B&C edition, the night scenes were specifically beautiful. They were enhanced by this to where these scenes were better than they were in colour.

Bad

However the lack of colour did draw me out of the rest of the film. All the explosions and I couldn’t help but rather watch them in colour. I think the studio made the right choice by making Miller release it in colour though I think it’s sad that Directors don’t get full reign, it was right to release it in colour.

Verdict

The performances are still good. Some people have issues with Hardy’s accent; I really don’t care. But the film just needed colour for me. Lucky for me, I have a colour copy at home. Directed well. Excellent sound. Beautiful filmmaking.

Mad Max: Fury Road (Black and Chrome) – 4.5/5

And just in case you wondered…

Mad Max: Fury Road (Colour) – 5/5

Leave a Reply

