Top 5 Ryan Gosling Performances 

Introduction 

Wiki: Ryan Thomas Gosling (born November 12, 1980) is a Canadian actor and musician. He began his career as a child star on the Disney Channels Micky Mouse Club (1993–95) and went on to appear in other family entertainment programs. And since he’s up for an academy award once again here’s the best of RG! LET US BEGIN!

Noah (The Notebook – 4/5)

His performance in the notebook is both heartbreaking and believable. You have to give him something since he was acting across from someone who he apparently didn’t get along with and yet fell convincingly in love with her. Likeable and inspiring in what he does and doesn’t do. Noah is a romantic icon for the modern age.

Sebastian (La La Land – 5/5)

Gosling’s latest performance had me hooked from the very beginning. Once his character flagged someone off in his first few minutes on screen, I was hooked. Charming, funny and as always with our Gosling, subtle. Another inspiring figure in what he does to get his dreams and what he does to maintain his relationship. One line I relate to… “Does she like Jazz? Then what are we going to talk about?” #relateable with context. 

March (The Nice Guys – 5/5)

Initially didn’t care for this film at all but my love has grown more and more to the point where I think I’ve overexposed myself to The Nice Guys. I should stop for a while. Gosling is funny, no, hilarious and sympathetic as the down on his look detective in one of his more physically expressive roles. Please do a sequel. I know it didn’t make much money but please. 

Dean (Blue Valentine – 5/5)

Heartbreaking. Truly heartbreaking. The Notebook is sad. This, this is heartbreaking. But a really great performance in a really great film. No one I know has seen this. You literally watch a couple fall in love and fall out of love. It’s really fascinating to watch. Too many films are predictable with the couple getting back together. This film and Goslings performance show the heartbreaking reality of love. 

Driver (Drive – 5/5)

This is a truly outstanding film with an outstanding performance. My favourite performances are the subtle ones. Here is a masterpiece in that. Acting without acting is the best kind of acting. Subtle in every way yet scary, empowering and sometimes childlike. A great character with perfect casting. I employ you to watch Drive. 

Thanks for reading with your eyes in your head. Might do reviews for some of these films, might not. Depends if I can be arsed. Can I? Maybe. Mr Gosling is slowly rising to overtake Fassbender for my favourite actor which is the real reason I did this list. Hope Bladerunner’s great! 

Leave a Reply

