Donnie Darko – Mini Review (Spoiler Free)

Good

I have never seen Donnie Darko, ever. But since it is the films 15th anniversary, my local cinema brought it back and I loved it. Frank is amazing and is the iconography of the film. Even if you haven’t seen Donnie Darko, you’ll most likely recognise Frank (the rabbit). The soundtrack/ score is so atmospheric and haunting and is one I had never heard before, which is always great for me, love my soundtracks. Very well utilised also. The humour had me giggling out loud which is something I never do. I don’t even laugh out loud but if a film makes me do so, I say it’s a success. Dark comedy at it’s finest.

Bad

The (little) visual effects used in this film are dated, but as I said, there are very little and therefore draw you out. The aren’t HP1 & HP2 bad but they aren’t as high standard as we come to expect from films today. This is good as it came out roughly the same time as HP1 & HP2. There was one visual “eye pop” effect which put me off but was one second in an all around amazing film. 

Verdict 

After this film finished, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t seen it before. Gyllenhaal is amazing and is the start of a very prosperous career for him. Seth Rogan plays a bad guy in this film which is hard to take seriously but I did… for the films sake. Even Patrick Swayze is in this thing! Wow! Probably the most important thing this film did which many films don’t do these days which I’m proud of this film doing. Is going sad and dark and disturbing with its ending. Doesn’t hold back and has a good confusing plot.

Donnie Darko – 5/5

Leave a Reply

