Top 5 Films (2016)

Introduction 

Overall I would say 2016 has been a disappointing year for film. Many of the films I was anticipating this year didn’t turn out to be as good as I’d thought they’d be (with one exception). The films I enjoyed the most this year were films I weren’t anticipating. So, without further ado…

5. Hell or High Water 

I seriously can’t think of anything bad with this film. It is nothing big or huge that will be remembered forever but it is what it needed to be and it is what it is and what it is is a great film filled with nothing but greatness.

4. Swiss Army Man

Despite the ending this film is incredible. Its messages are so important for modern times and are vital for everyone to know. I wish I could talk more about this film as Daniel Radcliffe gives his best performance yet (as a corpse). After watching this film I would have scored it lower but it just doesn’t seem right as the film on a whole is incredible and is incredible up until the finale.

3. Deadpool 

I couldn’t express how much I loved Deadpool when I first saw it. It was the first film in so long that made me laugh out loud all the way through it. I never laugh out loud. The only other film I’ve laughed out loud at is Anchorman 2 (my favourite comedy). It just isn’t very re-watchable to me, but still a 5/5.

2. The Nice Guys 

When I first saw The Nice Guys I didn’t like it all that much. I gave it around a 3.5/5 but now I would give it 5/5 for sure. My love for this film has grown so much. It is definitely the film I could watch over and over again from this year. No matter how many times I watch this film I can never get bored. Crowe and Gosling give their all and work so well together in my second favourite of the year. 

1. Arrival

All year I waited for a film like Arrival! Too may films nowadays have you sit back and relax, but Arrival has you think every second it is on. The performances are great by our main leads Adams and Renner. Go into this film knowing you’re going to be f*cked with and you may have a good time. If you only like stupid films that don’t make you think and Saturday night television then you’re probably going to hate this film. But as a true Inception fan, I have to recommend Arrival. Zero problems whatsoever.

Honourable Mentions

  • Batman v Superman
  • X-Men: Apocalypse 
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • The Conjuring 2
  • The Revenant 
  • The Magnificent Seven
  • Star Trek: Beyond
  • Hunt for the Wilderpeople 

I couldn’t do a top 10 this year. Though I have seen more good films this year than bad, even though some of the films were disappointing, I enjoyed them. I could rank my top 5, which I would give 5/5 to them all. Hoping next year will be better. Looks great, but so did this 

Leave a Reply

