Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – Mini Review (Spoilers)

Introduction

Let me just start this review by getting my view across. Everything about this film is great. I believe it is the best one of the whole series with great pay off and emotional finale to one of the greatest and most successful franchises to grace screens. It’s one of my favourite films of all time so here is my completely one sided review.

Good

It’s hard to personify why this film is great because (to me) everything about it is done as well as it could be. So I’m just going to tell you my favourite scenes. The dragon escape from Gringots is fantastic and has great scale to it. Shot magically with the score adding an emotional pump which had me smiling at the screen and goosebumps on my arms. The shield they put up round Hogwarts is one giant perfect thing I just marvel at every time I watch this film. All the staff coming together and preparing for a fight. So different to what we have seen of them previously and so haunting to see now. Snape’s memories might be my favourite scene in the whole franchise. Only one other scene rivals it which is in this film also. Snape has been seen as nothing but a bother for Harry and recently a villain. After we find out all this he has put Harry through in his years at Hogwarts was to protect him and he had even grown to love Harry, really just kills you inside. The 19 years later scene can be seen as unnecessary but to me it is the perfect ending. Harry sending his son off to Hogwarts )for a hopefully less eventful time than his father) with the score used when Harry first left Hogwarts those 10 years ago really does kill us inside… again. 

Verdict

The Hogwarts battle is brutal, the visual effects are fantastic, the performances are magical, and the best score of the series make this one emotional journey in one word… euphoric. In the end, we’re not going home, not really. 

Deathly Hallows Part 2 – 5/5

Leave a Reply

