Assassin’s Creed: The Ezio Trilogy (Xbox 360) – Review 

Introduction 

First of all this isn’t a review of the remastered version, I replayed these on my Xbox 360. I love Assassin’s Creed and this trilogy consists of some of the best additions into the franchise and a favourite game of all time of mine. Super hyped for the new film so I thought I’d replay these again so I thought I’d review them now I’m done. So without further ado, let’s begin. 

Assassin’s Creed II 

Good 

The main thing in Assassin’s Creed II that separates it from other entries into the franchise and something that I believe newer entries could use is different locations. Venice, Florence and two others! All designed greatly and feel alive. Ezio Auditore… has there been a more likeable protagonist in an Assassin’s Creed game? No. We love him, we sympathise with him and are with him all the way. A very good and simple/ focussed story is given which is a call back to when stories were given more attention than the gaming world. It is very investing and you want all Ezio’s targets gone. 

Bad

The one major problem I have with this game is the lighting. I love this game but it is kind of ugly. Especially in some specific locations but luckily only a short part of the game spends time in this location. 

Verdict: 9.5/10

The cliffhanger/ twist this game leaves you with is both annoying as you just want to know what happens next but is amazing in the same way because of its annoyance. Codex collecting is kind of tedious and can kill the hype that has been building but it doesn’t take anything away from the game that much at all as it still remains one of my favourite games of all time. 

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

Good

The improved graphics are something that immediately stood out to me when I went back and played the games. The step forward is big and does add something the previous entry was missing in its characters and world. It just brings them to life more as they express more believable emotions and the world looks and sounds great. Maybe the biggest plus in Brotherhood is Cesarai Borgia. The voice acting by Andreas Apergis is amazing and I truly hate this character. His voice is stuck in my head right now (I replayed the games in September) which just shows how much of an impact it has on the gamer themselves. 

Bad

The poor final missions of the game are really boring and bring the game down allot. Just walking around holding an apple doesn’t do it for me for a finale to a great game. Though it doesn’t last for long it really killed the mood. Rodrigo Borgia is so underused and unnecessary that I don’t think he was needed in this instalment. Cut him out and the game is the same. 

Verdict: 8/10

I praise the maps of II but Brotherhood’s map is unnecessarily big. I was running back and forth across the map to get to a mission that took less time than it did to get to it. The inclusion of Leonardo is something that I missed from II but didn’t drag it down too much.

Assassin’s Creed: Revelations 

Good

When going back to play Revelations, I had built up a bad reputation for the game but found it surprising me. The story is great as we follow Ezio (many years on from II and Brotherhood) in Constantinople. Goid story of building a new Brotherhood and giving an emotional ending and send off to our favourite assassin. The Altair link was a great addition of inception like quality and added something no other Assassin’s Creed game has offered ever or since. 

Bad

It can be repetitive as you are simply looking for one and key after the other and one book after the other for the entire game. Actually it is pretty repetitive but missions in between add much needed pacing. The undeveloped villain drags it down after such a great antagonist in Cesarai but other characters distract you from this but it’s still there and so is his end.

Verdict: 7.5/10

The idea of the real world story/ animus reality world is great and is shown wonderfully but I wanted to see more. They could only do so much I guess. And Yusuf! Yusuf’s underused as hell! He is shown at the beginning as a key player but then drifts to the back after act one. Nevertheless…

Leave a Reply

