Top 10 Moments: The Hobbit Trilogy – Part 1 (Spoilers)

I don’t know about you geezers but I love The Hobbit films, I may even love them more than Lord of the Rings. Yes I said it! And I don’t know why but recently I’ve been watching loads of clips from The Hobbit film and just remembering all the good times I had with this franchise and the obsession with it that I went through in 2014 and 2015. So because of this and I think it would be really cool to marathon the films this summer, I decided to put together my top 10 moments from The Hobbit Trilogy 10 through 6. I’ll be uploading part 2 soon and will be doing a top 10 for Lord of the Rings also. So without further or do and SPOILER ALERT… “So it begins”

10 – To The King

So leading up to this moment, Thorin has been a major asshole but he can’t help it as the treasure of the mountain is corrupting him. Just before this Dwalin has confronted him and tried to persuade him to join the battle and help his friends. Thorin almost kills him and goes down to the deeps of the mountain to confront his demons and rid himself of the sickness. He does so after a dreamlike sequence and asks his fellow dwarves “Will you follow me, one last time”? Even that line gives me the chills. Anyway, all these previous scenes build up to one great moment where the dwarves charge out of the mountain as Dain screams “To the king”! All the dwarves charge into battle as Howard Shore’s ‘Sons of Durin’ plays makes for a totally compelling and kick-ass moment.

09 – Farewell Elves (Thranduil, Legolas and Tauriel)

At the end of the battle of the five armies Thranduil wanders the battle in searh for his son (how I like to see it), when he comes upon Tauriel holding a dead Kili in her arms. Tauriel, holding back the tears confronts Thranduil and tells him “If this is love I do not want it. Take it from me. Please. Why does it hurt so much”? A heart-breaking moment between the two of them (who haven’t got along well at all) and the del is sealed when Thranduil replies “Because it was real”. Every time man;( Then Thranduil talks to his son (Legolas) and just before he leaves tells him “Your mother loved you. More then anything. More than life”. I see this as Thranduil telling the truth but because he has to be strong as a king he tells it as if they were his mothers words when in fact they are his. When you think about it now, it’s ten times more sad. And Legolas leaves and it is the last time we’ll see our Woodland prince ever and accompanied with Howards shore’s music, this moment hits me right in the feels. #thefeels

08 – One day I’ll remember/ When faced with death what can anyone do? 

Yes this is kind of cheating but let’s put it this way. “One day I’ll remember” was included in the final cut and “When faced with death what can anyone do?” wasn’t but it should’ve been. If you want just scenes included in the final cut, you have one and if you ant scenes that should have made the final cut, you have one. And if you’re like me and just love Bilbo speeches then you can have both. A moment where Thorin seemed to be turning back when Bilbo reveals t0 him that he has an acorn that he picked up in Beorn’s garden and he’s going to plant it at his, he tells him “One day it’ll grow, and every time I look at it I’ll remember — remember everything that happened the good the bad. And how lucky I am that I made it home”. Great moment. The other is where Bard and Gandalf have lost hope in the battle and Bilbo has to rally them up. He buries his acorn amongst the battle and says “That’s a promise. Beneath all that blood and dirt there’s a chance of new life. It may sound hopeless, it may sound foolish but really what else can you do? When faced with death, what can anyone do”? I’m kind of pissed of this wasn’t included so I’m including it here. Done!

07 – Thorin, Fili and Kili’s Funeral

This isn’t a deleted scene, this was included in the extended edition where we see our dwarves walk around the final resting places of Thorin, Fili and Kili. After experiencing all three of their tragic deaths we (along with the rest of the company) say our final goodbyes to them. The scene is silent and carried only by Howard Shore’s score as we watch our friends grieve. There isn’t much to write about this scene but that is why I love it. Short, sweet and heart wrenching every time I watch it. Just as a quick shout out, I see Billy Boyd’s ‘The Last Goodbye’ as Thorin, Fili and Kili saying farewell to Bilbo and his friends, Bilbo saying farewell to Thorin, Fili, Kili and his friends, us saying farewell to Middle Earth and Middle Earth saying farewell to us. Don’t cry ;( ;( ;( #ibidyouallaveryfondfarewell

06 – Smaug Battle (The Desolation of Smaug)

When you realise the first half of your Hobbit Trilogy top 10 moments has been entirely made up of scenes from The Battle of the Five Armies. Don’t worry, now is the time for The Desolation of Smaug. The Desolation of Smaug is my favourite Hobbit film and may be my favourite Middle Earth film and the Smaug battle scene is one of the reasons why. Bilbo has sneaked inside the mountain and has just escaped the jaws of the dragon when Thorin and some of the dwarves enter to save him and the battle begins. Tense, slow walks through the halls of Erebor, “If this is to end in fire, then we will all burn together”, Brothers risking their lives for each other and a scene that is a marvel of CGI, when the dwarves confront the dragon in the forges. This scene ends with such a cliffhanger that I shouted “SH!T” in the theatre and then felt immediately embarrassed after. #fml

That is it for now. Hope you liked Part 1, Part 2 will be up soon or maybe not IDK. Feel free to make any suggestions for any future Top 10’s or anything like that. Thanks always guys 🙂 PEACE!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

