Whiskey Tango Foxtrot – Review (Spoiler Free)

Why did I see this film? I don’t know. I knew nothing about this film going into and just worked out what the title meant right before going into the theatre. Normally in this introduction segment I would talk about this film and a bit of backstory to what it’s all about to me. But I have nothing to say so… My friend asked me if I wanted to go see it and I didn’t pass up the option to go to the cinema so I went. Ok? Good. Now…

Story

Basically this film follows Tina Fey who plays a journalist who decides to foxtrot her desk job and go out into the fields of Afghanistan with Bilbo Baggins and Harley Quin. They interview, party and have fun sexy time. Sounds good right? I guess. Not the type of film I’d usually watch but it’s a change. And yeah that’s the story. Short and sweet.

Acting

I’ve not seen Tina Fey in anything except the fight scene in Anchorman 2 so to see her shows that she has acting chops apart from killing other celebrities. She was good but Martin Freeman stands above all of them because he is awesome in everything. Seriously can this guy be bad in anything? Apparently not because he isn’t bad in this in fact he’s awesome. I love Martin Freeman! There I said it. He plays a bit of an arse who I probably wouldn’t like in real life but because it’s him, I liked him. Margot Robbie was good in it too. I wouldn”t say she’s a great actress but she’s on her way to that. She also has a great screen presence. Aha. Margot Robbie.

Laughs

Strange theme for a comedy this is. Even now I’m not so sure what this film is. Comedy? Documentary? Both? I guess so but I can never settle on one. The opening scene to this film was a little misleading and left me a little bit meh throughout the rest of the film as bits like this popped up but didn’t do nothing for me. Sometimes it slowed the film down as I thought was sat there for at least 2 1/2 hours when I was only there for 1 hour 50 mins. The laughs were repetitive also which was a little poo. Sexist jokes 24/7 left me annoyed and to be honest I didn’t care very much.

Verdict

As someone who’s never seen a Tina Fey film, I kind of didn’t like it. Not my type of film though. Decent watch I guess but I just don’t think her humour is my humour and that’s ok. We all have our own sense of humour. You like Tina Fey? Good. I think she’s ok? Safe. I like Nacho Libre and Anchorman? Good. My dad just likes Nacho Libre but doesn’t like Anchorman? Safe. See, it’s all good. We’re all friends here

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot – 5/10

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan O. says:

    It’s got a lot going on, and for that reason alone, it’s already pretty uneven. Even if the cast does try. Nice review.

    Like

    1. dajawrreview says:

      I agree. Should’ve been a solid comedy or a solid documentary type film. It was decent anyway. Thanks for feedback 👍

      Like

Leave a Reply

